article in america magazine

19Jun10

Lisa, Earthwork’s Outreach Coordinator, tells us that it’s a big deal to be featured in America Magazine – or at least it is in her household where her mother read it without fail every week.  I hope this is not her week to take off from reading as it features a lovely article on Earthworks which can be viewed here.  It includes quotes from E.A.T.’s own Willie Spivey, from before he enrolled in the E.A.T. program and and was just volunteering.  Enjoy.

2 Responses to “article in america magazine”

  1. It is a big deal that we were featured in America. and Yes, I did get an excited voicemail from my mom about the article in case anyone was wondering! Perhaps, I’ll see if I can get my mom to review this posting and comment on this blog. I doubt if she has ever done that before. What did you think of the article?

  2. 2 Dianne Richter

    Well, this is the first time I have ever done something like this. But, there is always a first time for everything! I was so elated to see the Capuchin Soup Kitchen’s Earthworks Program presented to the world in the June 21-28 issue of America magazine. America magazine has been a must read for me for many years and is always showcasing causes, events, programs that are in the forefront of their respective fields. And such is the Earthworks program. I do have to say that the first time I heard of the program thru my daughter, Lisa, I was a litle skeptical. But as I have learned more about the program, I am supporter of the program and all who work with the program and volunteer to make it such a success. I was even motivated to start a community garden in Elk Rapids, Michigan in 2009 and I am proud to say, there are now 13 gardeners learning about organic gardening and promoting a greater sense of community. Keep up the good work you are all doing in Detroit. You deserve all the recognition you get and more!


Leave a Reply

